Glens Falls Hospital

100 Park Street, Glens Falls, NY 12801 518.926.1000

 

Building Healthy Communities                      

The Health Promotion Center (HPC) at Glens Falls Hospital works to improve the health and well-being of the people and communities in our region. Our present work focuses on strategies to make it easier for people to eat well, be tobacco free, physically active, and obtain preventive care.

This work is currently supported through three grant-funded initiatives housed within the HPC: Creating Healthy Places to Live, Work, and Play, Healthy Schools NY, and the Tobacco Cessation Center.

Through these programs, HPC staff work collaboratively with school districts, businesses, communities, hospitals, and healthcare provider practices to support healthy lifestyles for our patients and community members. Specific strategies focus on policy, systems, and environmental changes that reduce risks for chronic disease and improve quality of life for both children and adults.

Glens Falls Hospital has worked to create healthier communities since its founding in 1897. As part of this effort, numerous documents have been produced to communicate these efforts.

 

Tracy Mills, Director of Research and Planning, provides leadership to the Health Promotion Center. She can be reached at 518-926-6998 or tmills@glensfallshosp.org.

Additional information on the HPC's programs, including contact information for the program coordinators, are below.

For general inquiries, contact:

Robbin Doucette

Grant Support Specialist

rdoucette@glensfallshosp.org

518-926-5968

View the latest version of the Health Promotion Center's newsletter.

 

Creating Healthy Places to Live Work and Play -

Community and Worksite Initiatives

Funded by the New York State Department of Health

 

Melissa Gaetano

Program Coordinator

mgaetano@glensfallshosp.org

518-926-5967

Kathy Varney

Program Coordinator

klvarney@glensfallshosp.org

518-926-5906

Creating Healthy Places to Live, Work and Play - Warren County

Worksite Wellness

Erin Krivitski, PsyD

Program Coordinator

ekrivitski@glensfallshosp.org

518-926-5919

Healthy Schools New York

 

Funded by the New York State Department of Health

 

Kelly Pilkey

Program Coordinator

kpilkey@glensfallshosp.org

518-926-5904

 

The Tobacco Cessation Center

 

Funded by the New York State Department of Health

 

Julie Wright

Program Coordinator

jwright@glensfallshosp.org

518-926-5936

Rebecca Smith

Program Coordinator

rksmith@glensfallshosp.org

518-926-5905

Visit the New York State Smokers' Quitline for additional information and resources

Visit our online library for more information on healthy lifestyles.

 

Good Move is a program of the Health Promotion Center of Glens Falls Hospital intended to encourage individuals and families to take steps toward good health in the community, in the workplace, and in the school.

 

Both national and local resources are available to assist the community to become physically active, eat healthfully and use preventive care measures.